The PGA Professional National Championship began in 1968, to provide additional playing opportunities for PGA Professionals. In more than three decades, it has become a showcase event for PGA Professionals, featuring some of the finest players in the Association. Formerly a 360-player field, the format of the PGA Professional National Championship was converted from 1997-2005 to a larger nationwide event featuring the finest 156 players at the peak of their games.

Previously, the Championship was contested after the golf season had ended across much of the United States. In 1997, local Sectional PGA Professional Championships were created, along with four new Regional PGA Professional Championships. The National Championship then moved its dates to one month prior to the PGA Championship. Following the 2004 fall season, the Regional PGA Professional Championships were discontinued, focusing more on the Section Championships and National Championship.

The Championship has been conducted in 14 states in the previous 42 years: Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Missouri, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina and Wisconsin.

The list of Champions over the past 42 years includes: Sam Snead, Bob Rosburg, Ed Dougherty, Bruce Fleisher and Larry Gilbert, the only three-time Champion. Former Tour professionals Rex Baxter Jr., Don Massengale, Laurie Hammer, Larry Webb, Bob Boyd, Brett Upper, Bruce Zabriski and Mike Small also have won the National Championship.

In 1997, the 30th National Championship was the first to be televised live by Golf Channel to millions of viewers across the U.S., Canada, China, Japan, Korea, Latin America, Malaysia, the Middle East, Scandinavia and Singapore. This year’s PGA Professional National Championship has a potential audience of 110 million.

The 43rd PGA Professional National Championship features a field of 312 players who have advanced from the 41 PGA Section Championships, along with past Champions. The final 36 holes of the National Championship will be conducted on one course, featuring a field of the low 70 scorers and ties. The Championship will distribute a total purse of more than $1.65 million, which will be awarded in both the Section and National Championships.

PNC Through the Years